The Quote Challenge – Day 1

I’ve been nominated for this challenge by the lovely Anjali (thank you for nomination and thank you for always spreading positivity!). 

The rules:

  1. For three consecutive days, you have to post a quote.
  2. Acknowledge the blogger who has nominated you.
  3. Each day you have to nominate three different bloggers.
  4. Let the bloggers know you have nominated them.

Day 1

For to be free is not merely to cast off one’s chains, but to live in a way that respects and enhances the freedom of others – Nelson Mandela

This quote serves as a reminder to me of the fact that firstly, there are number of people in this world:

  •  Who face oppression or discrimination based on their race, gender, religion etc.
  •  Whose freedom is restricted in other ways; the wife who is abused, the families who aren’t able to afford a meal; the individuals who don’t have access to an education…

And it reminds me that 1) I should make a conscious effort to check that I am not being unfairly stereotypical (it’s so easy to form subconscious bias!) – ensuring I always respect those are different to me and 2) that I should use the privileges I have to make whatever small difference I can to enhance the freedom of others.

But more than that it also shows me that those people who are oppressors, who are bigoted and refuse to respect the freedom of others, are actually prisoners of their own prejudice. They may proudly present their hatred for those who have a different religion, race etc.  but at the end of the day… they lose out. Because they’ll never see or understand what everyone else does. They won’t learn from other cultures. They won’t experience the beauty of making friends with people who are completely different to you. They won’t expand their mind, discuss and challenge views, agree to disagree.

In the end, they’re oppressing themselves.

I was lucky enough to grow up in a multicultural society; throughout school, University and work I have met people from all parts of the world, and I can confidently say I am a better person for having met them 🙂

Now for the nominations. I challenge the following three bloggers:

  1. Zora Zebic
  2. Emma
  3. Olive Ole

I look forward to reading your quotes!

10 thoughts on “The Quote Challenge – Day 1

  1. Pingback: It’s my birthday! (Toolbox talk to self) | Travel Much?

  2. Pingback: Iceland much? Not nearly enough! | Travel Much?

Leave a Reply

